Design Competition

»It is time it were time …« — Paul Celan

Designpreis Halle
2017: »Time«

Continually recurring phenomena such as the course of the seasons, the alternation of day and night or ebb and flow once structured the individual´s rhythm of life and personal sense of time. These were replaced by ideal measuring systems like calendar, plans and clocks. They regulated and structured the conception of time, and they set the pace for the accelerated rhythm of industrial production. As these systems are being transformed into a web of digital structures, a new, more flowing awareness of time is developing.
Acceleration and effective time management play an increasingly important role in numerous branches of the economy, such as in the finance, communication, transport and traffic sectors. At the same time, many people feel a growing need for alternative resting and recreational phases during working hours, for self-determined periods that can be spent alone or with the family or friends. Time has, in the meantime, become one of the most limited and most precious immaterial goods. At the same time, we associate time with concrete objects and spaces that can become the bearers of our memories. When we replace things or part with them, this can result in a process of realisation or of forgetting.

The topic, »Time«, is of high current and global significance and brings up a multitude of interesting creative and practical, but also design theoretical or socio-cultural questions in environmental, economic, ethic and social terms.

We are looking for designs from all over the world that examine the topic, »Time« – be it product- or processoriented. It may include inventing new services or suggesting innovative applications or user strategies but also designing products that address our treatment of time as a precious resource in a socio-critical, narrative, poetic, sensual, functional or humorous way.

Exhibition Participants

Prof. Vincenz Warnke

Prof. Volker Albus, , Thomas Edelmann, Prof. Axel Kufus, Nils Holger Moormann, , Prof. Peter Raacke, Prof. Vincenz Warnke