International
Design Competition

Photograph: Fritz

Prof. Volker
Albus

Born in Frankfurt/Main in 1949, he studied architecture at RWTH Aachen from 1968 to 1976 and works as a designer and exhibition planner as well as a publicist since 1984. He writes essays and reviews for »Design Report«, »form«, »Kunstzeitung«, »Wiener Standard« and other journals. Moreover, Albus is the author and editor of numerous books and exhibition catalogues. In 1994, he was appointed Professor of Product Design at Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design (»HfG«). Since 1998, he has also been working as a planner and curator of exhibitions that are shown worldwide for the Institute for Foreign Relations (»ifa«) in Stuttgart. In 2009, he initiated the university platform »kkaarrlls« together with Stefan Legner. He lives and works in Frankfurt/Main and in Karlsruhe.

Photograph: Katharina Gossow

Tulga
Beyerle

Since 2014, Tulga Beyerle has been the director of the Kunstgewerbemuseum (Museum of Decorative Arts), Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden (State Art Collection Dresden). Until then, she worked as a freelance design expert, author and curator. Together with Thomas Geisler and Lilli Hollein, she founded the Design festival »Vienna Design Week« in 2007 and was the co-director until the end of 2013. As curator she was responsible for exhibitions such as »Friends + Design« together with Maria Cristina Didero, Dresden, 2016; »Creative Collisions, Studio Rygalik«, Dresden, 2016; »Die falsche Blume, Hermann August Weizenegger« Dresden, 2015; »Die Teile des Ganzen, Geschichten aus der Sammlung des Kunstgewerbemuseums«, Dresden, 2015; »Designer treffen auf die Sammlung«, Dresden, 2014; »Vorbilder, 150 Jahre MAK, vom Kunstgewerbe zum Design« together with Thomas Geisler, MAK Vienna, 2014; »Isn‘t it romantic? Design zwischen Poesie und Provokation«, makk, Cologne, 2013; »2000 – 2010 Design in Wien« together with Peter Stuiber, Vienna Museum, 2010; »Pace of Design«, experimentadesign, Lisbon, 2009; »Peter Eisenman, Barfuß auf weißglühenden Mauern«, MAK, Museum of Applied Arts/Contemporary Arts, Vienna 2004 and »Global Tools« together with Vitus Weh, Künstlerhaus, Vienna, 2001. Among other things, she published »Isn’t it romantic? Design zwischen Poesie und Provokation«, editor Petra Hesse and Tulga Beyerle, Walter König, 2013; »2000 — 2010 Design in Wien«, Hg. Tulga Beyerle, Peter Stuiber, Metro Verlag 2010. Together with Karin Hirschberger, Tulga Beyerle is the editor and author of the book »Designlandschaft Österreich, 1900 – 2005«, published in German, English and Chinese, Birkhäuser, Germany.

Thomas
Edelmann

Born in Frankfurt/Main in 1963. From 1983 until 1991 he studied at the faculty of law at the Johann Wolfgang Goethe-University, Frankfurt. Today he lives and works in Hamburg. During his studies he started to be a freelance journalist. From 1987 until 2001 he was editor of Design Report, first based in Frankfurt at the German Design Council, from 1993 on in Hamburg. From 1996 until 2001 Thomas Edelmann as the editor-in-chief developed the Design Report to an international respected professional magazine. Today Thomas Edelmann is a steady writer for Architektur & Wohnen. He writes articles for further magazines and newspapers just as Architectual Digest, Eye magazine, form, Geo Epoche, Grid, Horizont, Interni, Page, Der Standard. Beneath he regularly attends the jury of certain design competitions just like for example Designpreis Halle, Renault Traffic Design Award, COR Preis, Wilhelm Braun-Feldweg Förderpreis für designkritische Texte. Thomas Edelmann was founding member of the board of the German Society of Designtheory and Research (DGTF) and until 2012 member ot the Board of International Research in Design (BIRD). In 2003 he edited the book »Tara  Hommage to a Sanitary Fitting and an Archetype«, published by Birkhauser. Together with Gerrit Terstiege he edited the Book »Gestaltung denken  Grundlagentexte zu Design und Architektur« (Birkhauser, 2009).

Prof. Axel
Kufus

Designer, Professor of Product and Process Design at Berlin University of the Arts (UdK) and initiator of cross-innovation-projects and experimental cooperation platforms at Campus Charlottenburg, Berlin.

Photograph: Roman Thomas

Nils Holger
Moormann

Since 1982 the self-taught Nils Holger Moormann, as one of the protagonists of the »New German Design« school, has been producing and selling products from young, unknown designers. Following the main principles of simplicity, intelligence and »innovation«, the items are generally characterised by innovative characteristics, precise detailed solutions and simple form. Since 1992, Moormann and his company have been ensconced in the idyllic landscape of Aschau im Chiemgau in upper Bavaria. Situated in the midst of the Alps, the company tries to have everything manufactured by firms located nearby. At time, it‘s possible to manage this aim by 98 %. As a large proportion of the product components are manufactured by external suppliers, the company retains a high degree of flexibility and a large breadth of items manufactured. The regional structures, which have developed over a long period of time, paired with international contacts, have a decisive influence on the company philosophy. For example, the seeming disadvantage of a lack of infrastructure is compensated for by conscious definition of what the company stands for by the place where it is located. From an unconventional one-man firm, an enterprise has developed which employs a team of 20 employees, who leave Nils Holger Moormann time to be active as an international juror and lecturer. The furniture collection, of which many individual items have been awarded international design prizes, is constantly.

Prof. Axel
Müller-Schöll

1960 born in Stuttgart, studied architecture, interior architecture and furniture design at the State Academy of Fine Arts in Stuttgart and the University of Florence. 1990 — 1994 teaching at the University of Art and Design in Stuttgart, Lyon and Beijing, since 1994 Professor of Designing Interior Architecture/Interior Fitting at the Burg Giebichenstein University of Art and Design that he chaired as Rector from 2010 – 2014. 1999 he founded the »idea … – Institut« (Institute for interior design, architecture and environment) with whom he conducts and publishes research projects – including the „MANUskript“ (Birkhäuser, 2010) a combination of manual and sketchbook as well as „Formfächer“ (av-Edition, 2009), a collection of illustrated design terms. Together with his office, the Studio Paretaia Stuttgart, he designs architecture, interior fittings, exhibition concepts, furniture design and consulting companies.

Prof. Peter
Raacke

Born in Hanau in 1928, Peter Raacke attended the Zeichenakademie Hanau and served in the military from 1943 to 1945. Between 1946 and 1947, he studied at the Staatliche Höhere Fachhochschule Schwäbisch Gmünd and continued his studies at the Kölner Werkschulen from 1948 to 1951. In 1950, he received a scholarship to the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Paris. He worked as an assistant at the Werkkunstschule Darmstadt from 1951 to 1953 and as a lecturer at the Staatliche Werkkunstschule Saarbrücken from 1953 to 1958. In 1958, he was a founding member of VDID and designed the »mono« cutlery series. He continued working as a lecturer at the Staatliche Werkkunstschule Kassel between 1958 and 1962 and at the Hochschule für Gestaltung Ulm from 1962 until 1966. In the years 1966 and 1967, he created the world´s first cardboard furniture series. He taught as a professor at the Hochschule für Bildende Künste Hamburg from 1968 to 1993. Since 1998, he lives in Berlin. Numerous lectures and exhibitions took him to Shenzen and Zuhai in China in the years 2004 and 2005. In 2007, a re-edition of pieces from the 1967 cardboard folding furniture series was produced and distributed. Peter Raacke is represented with his products in numerous international museums; he has bequeathed his estate to the Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin.

Prof. Vincenz
Warnke

Born in Münster/Westfalen in 1970, Vincenz Warnke studied Industrial Design at the School of Applied Arts in Hamburg from 1991 to 1999. He worked as a self-employed designer and was a co-founder of the interdisciplinary group »STROM«, with stalls at the Milan furniture fair and the London furniture fair 100% design. In 2001, he co-founded the label »Pension für Design« (Guesthouse for Design) and in 2002 co-founded the label »Pension für Produkte« (Guesthouse for Products). Vincenz Warnke was appointed Professor of Industrial Design at Burg Giebichenstein University of Art and Design Halle in 2006 and has been curating »Designpreis Halle« since 2007. He has participated in national and international exhibitions and has received various awards and honours for his design products.

Internationaler
Designwettbewerb

Foto: Fritz

Prof. Volker
Albus

Geboren 1949 in Frankfurt am Main, studierte er von 1968 bis 1976 an der RWTH Aachen Architektur. Seit 1984 arbeitet Volker Albus als Designer und Ausstellungsmacher, zudem ist er als Publizist tätig. Er verfasst Essays und Kritiken u.a. für den »Design Report«, »form«, die »Kunstzeitung« und den »Wiener Standard«. Darüber hinaus ist er Autor und Herausgeber zahlreicher Bücher und Ausstellungskataloge. Seit 1994 ist Volker Albus Professor für Produktdesign an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Gestaltung in Karlsruhe. Seit 1998 konzipiert und kuratiert er weltweit tourende Ausstellungen für das »ifa« (Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen) in Stuttgart. 2009 gründete er gemeinsam mit Stefan Legner die Hochschulplattform »kkaarrlls«. Er lebt und arbeitet in Frankfurt am Main und Karlsruhe.

Foto: Katharina Gossow

Tulga
Beyerle

Tulga Beyerle ist seit 2014 Direktorin des Kunstgewerbemuseums, Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden. Bis zu dem Zeitpunkt arbeitete sie als freie Design Expertin, Autorin und Kuratorin. Sie gründete 2007 gemeinsam mit Thomas Geisler und Lilli Hollein das Designfestival Vienna Design Week und war dessen Co-Direktorin bis Ende 2013. Als Kuratorin verantwortete sie u.a. Ausstellungen wie „Friends + Design“ gemeinsam mit Maria Cristina Didero, Dresden, 2016; Creative Collisions, Studio Rygalik“, Dresden, 2016; „Die falsche Blume, Hermann August Weizenegger“ Dresden, 2015; „Die Teile des Ganzen, Geschichten aus der Sammlung des Kunstgewerbemuseums“, Dresden, 2015; „Rochaden, Designer treffen auf die Sammlung“, Dresden, 2014; „Vorbilder, 150 Jahre MAK, vom Kunstgewerbe zum Design“ gemeinsam mit Thomas Geisler, MAK Wien, 2014; »Isn‘t it romantic? Design zwischen Poesie und Provokation«, makk, Köln, 2013; »2000 — 2010 Design in Wien« gemeinsam mit Peter Stuiber, Wien Museum, 2010; »Pace of Design«, experimentadesign, Lissabon, 2009; »Peter Eisenman, Barfuß auf weißglühenden Mauern«, MAK, Museum für angewandte Kunst/Gegenwartskunst, Wien 2004 sowie »Global Tools«, gemeinsam mit Vitus Weh, Künstlerhaus, Wien, 2001. Unter anderem publizierte sie »Isn’t it romantic? Design zwischen Poesie und Provokation«, Hg. Petra Hesse und Tulga Beyerle, Walter König 2013; »2000 — 2010 Design in Wien«, Hg. Tulga Beyerle, Peter Stuiber, Metro Verlag 2010. Zusammen mit Karin Hirschberger ist Tulga Beyerle Herausgeberin und Autorin des Buches »Designlandschaft Österreich, 1900 — 2005«, erschienen auf deutsch, englisch und chinesisch, Birkhäuser 2006.

Thomas
Edelmann

Geboren 1963 in Frankfurt am Main. Von 1983 bis 1991 studierte er Rechtswissenschaften an der Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität. Heute lebt und arbeitet er in Hamburg. Während seines Studiums begann er seine Tätigkeit als freier Journalist. Von 1987 bis 2001 war er Redakteur des Design Report, zunächst beim Rat für Formgebung in Frankfurt, ab 1993 in Hamburg. Von 1996 bis 2001 entwickelte Thomas Edelmann als Chefredakteur Design Report zu einem international angesehenen Fachmagazin. Heute ist Edelmann ständiger Mitarbeiter von Architektur & Wohnen. Er schreibt Beiträge für Zeitschriften, Zeitungen und Onlinemedien (u.a. Architectural Digest, Eye magazine, form, Geo Epoche, Grid, Horizont, Interni, Page, Der Standard). Daneben war er wiederholt bei Designwettbewerben als Juror tätig (u.a. Designpreis Halle, Renault Traffic Design Award, COR Preis, Wilhelm Braun-Feldweg Förderpreis für designkritische Texte). Thomas Edelmann war Mitgründer der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Designtheorie und –forschung (DGTF) und gehörte bis 2012 dem Board of International Research in Design (BIRD) an und war Gastdozent an der HfbK Braunschweig und der FH Köln. 2003 erschien bei Birkhäuser das von ihm herausgegebene Buch »Tara  Armatur und Archetypus«, 2009 das gemeinsam mit Gerrit Terstiege herausgegebene Buch »Gestaltung denken  Grundlagentexte zu Design und Architektur«.

Prof. Axel
Kufus

Designer, Professor für Produkt- und Prozessgestaltung an der Berliner Universität der Künste sowie, Initiator von Cross-Innovations-Projekten und experimenteller Kooperationsplattformen am Campus Charlottenburg in Berlin.

Foto: Roman Thomas

Nils Holger
Moormann

Seit 1982 produziert und vertreibt der Autodidakt Nils Holger Moormann als einer der Protagonisten des »Neuen Deutschen Designs« Entwürfe zumeist junger, unbekannter Designer. Den Leitgedanken Einfachheit, Intelligenz und Innovation folgend, zeichnen sich die Produkte zumeist durch »Erfindungen«, sowie präzise Detaillösungen und eine reduzierte Formensprache aus. Seit 1992 ist die Firma Moormann in die Idylle des oberbayerischen Aschau im Chiemgau eingebettet. Inmitten der Alpen wird versucht, alles von in der Nähe ansässigen Betrieben fertigen zu lassen. Dies gelingt derzeit zu neunundachtzig Prozent. Da ein grosser Teil der Produkte ausser Haus gefertigt wird, erhält sich die Firma ein hohes Maß an Flexibilität und eine größere Produktionstiefe. Die gewachsenen, regionalen Strukturen gepaart mit internationalen Kontakten kennzeichnen die Firmenphilosophie. So wird der scheinbare Nachteil einer fehlenden Infrastruktur durch die bewusste Definition über den Standort ausgeglichen. Aus dem unkonventionellen Ein-Mann-Unternehmen entwickelte sich eine Firma, die ein Team von zwanzig Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern beschäftigt und Nils Holger Moormann auch für internationale Jurortätigkeiten und Vorträge Zeit lässt. Die Möbelkollektion, deren Produkte mit vielen internationalen Designpreisen ausgezeichnet sind, wird ständig um neue Möbel- und Produktlinien erweitert.

Prof. Axel
Müller-Schöll

Geboren 1960 in Stuttgart, studierte Architektur, Innenarchitektur und Möbeldesign an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste Stuttgart und an der Universität Florenz. Nach verschiedenen Lehrtätigkeiten an den Kunsthochschulen in Stuttgart, Lyon und Peking lehrt er seit 1994 als Professor für Entwerfen Innenarchitektur / Ausbaukonstruktion an der Burg Giebichenstein Kunsthochschule Halle, die er von 2010-14 auch als Rektor leitete. Seit 1999 leitet er im Fachbereich Design auch das idea …Institut (Institut for Interior design environment and architecture), mit dem er Forschungsprojekte betreibt und publiziert – u.a. das „MANUskript“ (Birkhäuser, 2010) eine Verbindung von Handbuch und Skizzenheft sowie der „Formfächer“ (av-Edition, 2009), eine Sammlung illustrierter Design-Begriffe. Zusammen mit seinem Büro, dem Studio Paretaia Stuttgart, entwirft er Gebäude und Innenausbauten, konzipiert Ausstellungen, entwickelt Möbel und berät Unternehmen.

Prof. Peter
Raacke

Geboren 1928 in Hanau, war Peter Raacke von 1943 bis 1945 an der Zeichenakademie Hanau und im Kriegsdienst. Von 1946 bis 1947 besuchte er die Staatliche höhere Fachhochschule Schwäbisch Gmünd und von 1948 bis 1951 die Kölner Werkschulen. 1950 erhielt er ein Stipendium an der Ecole des Beaux-Arts Paris. Er arbeitete als Assistent an der Werkkunstschule Darmstadt von 1951 bis 1953 und als Dozent an der Staatlichen Werkkunstschule Saarbrücken von 1953 bis 1958. 1958 war er Gründungsmitglied des VDID und entwarf das »mono-Besteck«. Als Dozent war er von 1958 bis 1962 an der Staatlichen Werkkunstschule Kassel und von 1963 bis 1966 an der Hochschule für Gestaltung Ulm tätig. 1966/1967 gestaltete er die ersten Pappmöbel der Welt. Von 1968 bis 1993 war er Professor an der Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg. Er lebt und arbeitet seit 1998 in Berlin. Für zahlreiche Vorträge und Ausstellungen hielt er sich 2004/2005 in Shenzhen und Zhuhai China auf. 2007 wurde eine Re-Edition von Möbeln aus dem Papp-Faltmöbel-Programm von 1967 produziert und vertrieben. Peter Raacke ist in internationalen Museen mit seinen Produkten vertreten. Sein Archiv befindet sich im Deutschen Technikmuseum Berlin.

Foto: Michael Deutsch

Prof. Vincenz
Warnke

Geboren 1970 in Münster/Westfalen, studierte Vincenz Warnke von 1991 bis 1999 Industrial Design an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Hamburg. Danach war er als freiberuflicher Designer tätig. 2000 war er Mitbegründer der interdisziplinären Gruppe »STROM« mit Auftritten auf der Mailänder Möbelmesse und der Londoner Möbelmesse 100% Design. 2001 war er Mitbegründer des Labels »Pension für Design« und 2002 des Labels »Pension für Produkte«. Seit 2006 ist er Professor für Industriedesign an der Kunsthochschule Halle und seit 2007 Kurator des »Designpreis Halle«. Er war an nationalen und internationalen Ausstellungen beteiligt und erhielt verschiedene Preise und Auszeichnungen.